Governor Signing Deadlines


State Governor Signing Deadlines
Alabama During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 6 days of transmittal (excepting Sunday), or it becomes law without signature. If legislation is passed during the last 5 days of the session, governor must sign or veto within 10 days of session adjournment, or legislation is pocket vetoed.
Alaska During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 15 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted to governor after session adjournment must be acted upon within 20 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or legislation becomes law without signature.
Arizona During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days of the day after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. If legislation is transmitted after session adjourns, the governor must act within 10 days of adjournment (excepting Sundays), or legislation becomes law without signature.
Arkansas During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. If legislation is transmitted with less than 5 days left in the session, governor must act within 20 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or legislation becomes law without signature.
California During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 12 days of the day of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. However, if the 12th day is a Sunday or a holiday, governor has until next working day to act. Governor has until September 30 to sign or veto legislation in his/her possession on the day legislature adjourns (usually August 31), or legislation becomes law without signature.
Colorado During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted to the governor within the last 10 of the session must be acted upon within 30 days after the last day of the session, or it becomes law without signature.
Connecticut Governor must sign or veto legislation within 15 days of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Delaware Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. After session adjournment, governor must act within 30 days of adjournment, or legislation is pocket vetoed.
District of Columbia After the Council has passed a bill, it is transmitted to the Mayor for approval. The Mayor, within 10 business days, must either sign the bill, veto the bill, or allow the bill to become law without his signature. If the bill is not vetoed, it becomes an Act and is assigned an Act number. After a bill is approved by the Council and/or Mayor, the new Act is sent to the U.S. Congress for a mandatory review period. Congress has 60 legislative days in which to review proposed changes to the criminal code and 30 legislative days to review other legislation. A legislative day is any day in which one or both houses of Congress are in session. Council-passed measures become law if Congress does not adopt a joint resolution of disapproval, which must be signed by the President of the United States. Finally-approved bills will have the phrase "law #" indicated in the bill history.
Florida Governor must sign or veto legislation within 15 days of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Georgia Governor must sign or veto legislation within six days of passage during session (40 days after sine die adjournment), or it becomes law without signature.
Guam The Governor has ten (10) days (except Sundays and holidays) after transmittal of legislation. If the governor does not sign the bill then it becomes a law without his signature, except at the sine die adjournment of the biennial, where after thirty (30) days it is considered to be vetoed.
Hawaii If the governor receives the bill 10 days before sine die, the governor only has 10 days to sign or veto the legislation. If the governor receives the bill within 10 days of sine die, then the governor has 45 days after sine die to sign or veto legislation.
Idaho During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 7 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or legislation becomes law without signature. If legislation is transmitted to the governor less than 7 days before adjournment, governor must act within 10 days after the date of adjournment (excepting Sundays), or legislation becomes law without signature.
Illinois Any bill not returned by the Governor within 60 calendar days after it is presented to him shall become law. If recess or adjournment of the General Assembly prevents the return of a bill, the bill and the Governor's objections must be filed with the Secretary of State within such 60 calendar days. The Secretary of State must return the bill and objections to the originating chamber promptly upon the next meeting of the same General Assembly at which the bill can be considered.
Indiana Governor must sign or veto legislation within 7 days of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Iowa During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 3 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted within the last 3 days of the session, must be signed or vetoed within 30 days after the date of adjournment (excepting Sundays), or legislation is pocket vetoed.
Kansas Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Kentucky During session, the governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days of the day following transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature.
Louisiana During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted with less than 10 days remaining in session must be acted upon by governor within 20 days of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Maine During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. If session adjourns before signing deadline passes, and governor fails to act, bill becomes law, unless returned to legislature within 3 days after the next meeting of the same legislature.
Maryland During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 6 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted to the governor within six days of session adjournment must be acted upon by the governor within 30 days of transmittal from the legislature (which has 20 days following adjornment to do so), or it becomes law without signature.
Massachusetts Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. However, if transmittal occurs with fewer than 10 days left in the session, failure of the governor to act results in pocket veto.
Michigan During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 14 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. However, If legislature adjourns prior to the end of the 14-day time period, the governorís failure to act results in a pocket veto.
Minnesota During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 3 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation passed during the last three days of the session must be acted upon by the governor within 14 days of of session adjournment, or it is pocket vetoed.
Mississippi During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. However, if legislature adjourns prior to the end of the 5-day time period, governor has 15 days to act (Sundays excepted) before legislation becomes law. If governor vetoes legislation after adjournment, bill must be returned to legislature within 3 days after the beginning of the next session.
Missouri During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 15 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. If transmittal occurs with less than 15 days remaining in the session, governor must act within 45 days after the end of session, or legislation becomes law without signature.
Montana Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal, or legislation becomes law without signature.
Nebraska Governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Nevada During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after the day following transmittal (Sunday excepted), or it becomes law without signature. If legislature adjourned at time of transmittal, governor must act within ten days after adjournment (Sundays excepted), or legislation becomes law without signature. Bills vetoed after adjournment returned to legislature for possible veto override in next session.
New Hampshire During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after transmittal (Sundays and holidays excepted), or it becomes law without signature. If transmittal occurs after adjournment and legislation is not acted upon within 5 days (Sundays and holidays excepted), legislation is pocket vetoed.
New Jersey During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 45 days of transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. If the billís chamber of origin is in recess, the 45-day deadline may be extended to the date that the chamber reconvenes. After session adjournment, governor must act within seven days after the end of session, or legislation is then enacted.
New Mexico During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 3 days of transmittal (Sundays excepted), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted within the last 3 days of the session, must be acted upon by the governor within 20 days of session adjournment, or it is pocket vetoed.
New York During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal (Sundays excepted), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted with fewer than 10 days left in the session must be acted upon by the governor within 30 days after adjournment, or is pocket vetoed.
North Carolina During session, the governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature. If legislature adjourns for more than 30 days, governor must act within 30 days after adjournment, or legislation becomes law without signature. If governor vetoes legislation after adjournment, governor must reconvene session, or legislation becomes law despite veto on 40th day after session adjournment.
North Dakota During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 3 days after transmittal (Saturdays and Sundays excepted), or it becomes law without signature. If legislation is transmitted to governor with less than 3 days remaining in session (Saturdays and Sundays excepted), governor must act within 15 days after transmission (Saturdays and Sundays excepted), or legislation becomes law without signature.
Ohio Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Oklahoma Governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after transmittal (Sundays excepted), of it becomes law without signature. If transmittal occurs with less than 5 days left in the session, governor must act within 15 days of the date of session adjournment, or legislation is pocket vetoed.
Oregon During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days of transmittal (except Saturdays and Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. For legislation transmitted to the governor within the last 5 days of the session, governor must act within 30 days of adjournment (except Saturdays and Sundays), or legislation becomes law without signature.
Pennsylvania Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Rhode Island During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 6 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. For bills transmitted after session adjournment, governor must act within 10 days after the end of session, or legislation becomes law without signature.
South Carolina Governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature.
South Dakota During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days after transmission (excepting weekends and holidays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation transmitted less then 5 days before session adjournment must by acted upon by the governor within 15 days of adjournment (excepting weekends and holidays), or it becomes law without signature. Traditionally, however, the legislature generally considers gubernatiorial vetoes on its last day of session.
Tennessee Governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature.
Texas During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. For legislation transmitted with less than 10 days left in the session, governor has 20 days after adjournment to act, or legislation becomes law without signature.
US Virgin Islands The Governor has ten (10) days after transmittal of legislation. If the governor does not sign the bill then it becomes a law without his signature.
Utah Governor must sign or veto legislation within 20 days of passage, or it becomes law without signature.
Vermont There is no set deadline for the legislature to transmit passed legislation to the governor. Once legislation is sent, the Governor has five days (excluding Sundays) to act upon it, or it becomes law without his signature. If the legislature adjourns, however, the governor must sign or veto legislation within three days of transmittal; otherwise, it is pocket vetoed.
Virginia Governor must sign or veto legislation within one month of the last day of the session, or it becomes law without signature.
Washington During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days of transmittal (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Bills transmitted within the last 5 days of the session must be acted upon by the governor within 20 days of adjournment (excepting Sundays).
West Virginia During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 5 days of transmittal (excluding Sunday). For bills transmitted after session adjourns, governor has 15 days to act from adjournment (excluding Sundays), except in case of budget or appropriations bills, where the governor has only 5 days (excluding Sunday).
Wisconsin Governor must sign or veto legislation within 6 business days after transmittal, or it becomes law without signature.
Wyoming During session, governor must sign or veto legislation within 3 days (excepting Sundays), or it becomes law without signature. Legislation received by the governor with 2 days or less remaining in the session, must be acted upon by the governor within 15 days after adjournment, or legislation becomes law without signature.